Special Education Advisory Committee

  • Meets on the first Wednesday of every month from September to June
  • Meetings are open to the public. Contact Connie Trotter at [email protected] for a virtual meeting link
  • Participates in the annual review of the Board’s Special Education Plan
  • Reviews and makes recommendations to the Board on issues concerning the special education budget

Why Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)?

The Education Act of Ontario requires that:

  • S57.1(1) “Every district school board shall establish a special education advisory committee.”
  • Reg. 464/97 s.11(1) “A special education advisory committee to a board may make recommendations to the board in respect of any matter affecting the establishment, development and delivery of special education programs and services for exceptional pupils of the board.”

Parents/Student Access to the Electronic Individual Education Plan (IEP) Template

In response to requests from parents, and parent organizations to have access to the electronic IEP template, the Ministry of Education has developed a pre-populated (profile section), read-only version of the electronic template.

Parents and students can access the Ministry of Education electronic IEP Template using the following login information:

Username: IEPDemo
Password: demo

The Ministry of Education template is available in both English and French. Once logged on to the template, there are links to an Instruction Guide, as well as a link to commonly asked questions and answers that are regularly updated. Parents, students and parent organizations may also refer to The Individual Education Plan A Resource Guide (2004) for additional information about developing IEPs.

Special Education Advisory Committee Members

Members: Representatives and alternates from local associations for 2021-2022

Voting Members and Alternates

  • Katie Ansley: OPVIC (Ontario Parents for Visually Impaired Children); Vice Chair, VIEWS for the Visually Impaired
  • Lynette Geddes: Trustee
  • Herb Klassen: Trustee
  • Val Milson: Huron Perth Centre
  • Trevor McGregor: Community Living Stratford & Area
  • Jennifer Doak: Community Living Central Huron
  • Katrina Brindley-Ryan: Autism Ontario
  • Robyn Horst: Family Services Perth Huron
  • Julie Welch: Community Services Coordination (CSCN)
  • TBA: Member at Large

Non-Voting Members

  • Anne Copeland: Elementary Principal Rep
  • Ed Havenga: Secondary Principal Rep
  • Jeff Bruce: Superintendent of Education
  • Debbie Hodgins: Principal

Alternate Members

  • Robert Hunking: Trustee
  • Colleen Schenk: Trustee
  • Jennifer Azzano and Cathy Graham: Huron Perth Centre
  • Jennifer Costello: Community Living St. Marys & Area
  • Sarah Reid: Community Living Stratford Area
  • Katie Fox: Community Living South Huron and Area

2022-2023 Meeting Dates

Meetings are held virtually on the first Wednesday of every month from September to June unless otherwise noted.

  • September 14, 2022
  • October 5, 2022
  • November 2, 2022
  • December 7, 2022
  • January 11, 2023
  • February 1, 2023
  • March 1, 2023
  • April 5, 2023
  • May 3, 2023
  • June 7, 2023 (subject to change)
All meetings start at 4:00 p.m.

Nominations for Appointees

Local associations/organizations that work to further the interests and well-being of exceptional children or adults are encouraged to nominate a representative to serve as a volunteer on the AMDSB Special Education Advisory Committee. Members of SEAC are:

  • at least 18 years of age;
  • a Canadian citizen;
  • live within the boundaries of the Avon Maitland District School Board (Huron and Perth counties);
  • and not an employee of the Avon Maitland District School Board.

Letter of Application is to be sent to:

Connie Trotter, Executive Assistant
Avon Maitland District School Board
62 Chalk Street North
Seaforth, ON N0K 1W0
Telephone:1-800-592-5437 extension 114
Fax: (519) 527-0222 or by email to: [email protected]

Important Community Links